Nachspiel : John Adams’ Chamber Symphony

Nachspiel : John Adams’ Chamber Symphony

Torsdag 19. april, rett etter TSO-konserten, inviterer vi igjen til Nachspiel-konsert med Trondheim Sinfonietta. Publikum inviteres til å innta orkestermusikernes stoler på scenen for en frisk avslutning på konsertkvelden i Olavshallen. John Adams’ “Chamber Symphony” står på programmet, en av de virkelig store milesteiner innen det 20. århundres kammermusikk-repertoar.

Les hva komponisten selv sier om verket:

Written for 15 instruments and lasting 22 minutes, the Chamber Symphony bears a suspicious resemblance to its eponymous predecessor, the Opus 9 of Arnold Schoenberg. The choice of instruments is roughly the same as Schoenberg’s, although mine includes parts for synthesizer, percussion (a trap set), trumpet and trombone. However, whereas the Schoenberg symphony is in one uninterrupted structure, mine is broken into three discrete movements, “Mongrel Airs”; “Aria with Walking Bass” and “Roadrunner.” The titles give a hint of the general ambience of the music.
I originally set out to write a children’s piece, and my intentions were to sample the voices of children and work them into a fabric of acoustic and electronic instrumets. But before I began that project I had another one of those strange interludes that often lead to a new piece. This one involved a brief moment of what Melville called “the shock of recognition”: I was sitting in my studio, studying the score to Schoenberg’s Chamber Symphony, and as I was doing so I became aware that my seven year old son Sam was in the adjacent room watching cartoons (good cartoons, old ones from the ’50’s). The hyperactive, insistantly aggressive and acrobatic scores for the cartoons mixed in my head with the Schoenberg music, itself hyperactive, acrobatic and not a little aggressive, and I realized suddenly how much these two traditions had in common.

Les mer her :

Back to Top